Xmas Movies I Try To See Every Year

Watching movies is one of my favorite hobbies. Next month I’ll be making a slew of movie posts that will likely reveal some of my passion for movies. Today I wanted to focus on the Christmas movies I [want to] come back to year after year.

1. Mickey’s Christmas Carol (1983)

As far as I’m concerned it’s the only version that needs to be seen. It’s far shorter than other versions and contains a good mix of humor, scary moments, and of course the warm feelings that *usually* accompany Disney characters and films. Technically not a full feature film, but for this tired story it’s a perfect length.

My favorite scene is when the ghost, Jacob (Goofy) first appears to Scrooge and holds up two fingers stating, “tonight, you’ll be visited by 3 spirits.”

2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989)

Not only is this movie the best of all the Vacation movies, it is also one of the best Christmas movies of all time. The chaos of the Griswold house is just fun to watch and I think everyone identifies with at least one character or situation in this film. Also, this is probably one of the most quotable movies I can think of. The comedy is superb and its fun to relish in the good days of Chevy Chase.

My favorite scene is Clark Griswold flirting with the lingerie sales woman in the mall. When she asks if she can take something out for him and he starts laughing uncontrollably, so do I.

3. A Christmas Story (1983)

This movie I never watch intentionally, but always end up watching it every year because one station always plays it for 24hrs continuously. When I’m flipping and land on it, I watch it. Not as quotable as Christmas Vacation, but the scenes are so memorable.

My favorite scene is the same as yours. Ohhh fuuuudge!!!

4. Home Alone (1990)

This movie is awesome. I just want to get that out there. I’d also like to point out that the soundtrack to this movie is equally awesome. Christmas (in my book) would not be the same without Kevin and the “Wet Bandits.”

My favorite scene exists inside the grand finale of Kevin demolishing the robbers. It’s the final straw for Marv when he gets a tarantula placed on his face and he screams like a banshee.

5. Die Hard (1988)

Bruce Willis throws Professor Snape off the roof of a sky scraper! What more could you ask for at Christmas time? This movie practically redefined the action genre with its awesome fight/shooting scenes and one liners as well as launching ol’ Bruce Willis’ career into the big time.

My favorite scene involves the catch phrase Yippe-ki-yay and I can’t really show it here, but it’s the ultimate of the hero finally overcoming the evil against unbeatable odds.

family friendly

Honorable Mentions:
-Babes in Toyland
-The Santa Clause
-Gremlins

2 thoughts on “Xmas Movies I Try To See Every Year

  1. Couldn’t agree more with this list. For your consideration I’d like to add “Elf”.

    Home Alone soundtrack=John Williams. Might very well be the best film score composer of all time. Star Wars, Superman, Indiana Jones, E.T., Jaws, Harry Potter….etc.

    1. I had considered Elf, but I think I’ve only watched it start to finish one time. I need to see it more before it can become a holiday must-see.

Leave a Reply

