Awesome Versions of Awesome Xmas Songs

1. O Come O Come Emmanuel by Selah

This is one of those songs that I think is important for the season. It captures the anticipation of the Christ by a people with a long history of oppression and a great need for a King. I feel like this version of the song really taps into that sense of longing.

2. Last Christmas by Jimmy Eat World

This is a highly repetitive song originally done by Wham! and can be tough to listen to if you aren’t in the mood. I think Jimmy Eat World has a much more compelling reboot of this song. It’s always fun to hear an alternative rock band cover Christmas songs.

3. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas by Christopher Kincaid

This is a fun little song that has true Christmas spirit. It’s one of my favorites. I really enjoy Kindaid’s version because of the simple and raw sound and the acoustic guitar adaptation is so warm which matches the lyrics perfectly.

4. Christmas Time is Here by Mercy Me

If you had a childhood you probably remember the Charlie Brown Christmas and this song. I’m a huge fan of the original but I also love Mercy Me’s version. If you’d consider yourself a fan of Xmas music you should probably own both A Charlie Brown Christmas by Vince Guaraldi Trio and The Christmas Sessions by Mercy Me.

5. Silent Night by Russ Lee

Just to get it out there, I’m not a Russ Lee fan. In fact, his song Hear Those Bells only missed my Xmas Songs That Suck list because I only remembered it two days after I’d already published. But he totally nails Silent Night and for that I give him props. The first time I heard it, I got chills.

6. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by Rascal Flatts

Them boys know how to sing! I normally don’t promote anything country, but I enjoy the upbeat sound for this song. They include some of their own lyrics and they are a great fit. Rascal Flatts don’t have a Xmas album. This somewhat obscure track shows up on the album No Wrapping Required.

7. Carol of the Bells by Barlow Girl

I actually think this is one of those songs that’s so good that no artist could screw it up. Even the Mannheim Steamroller version is decent. If you enjoy the vocal lics and harmonies of Barlow Girl then you’ll totally dig this. Unfortunately, the whole album isn’t as good as what they’ve done here, but a few tracks might be worth grabbing.

I could go on, but I’d rather hear your recommendations! So what are some great versions of great songs?

6 thoughts on “Awesome Versions of Awesome Xmas Songs

  1. Anything off of Reliant K’s Let it Snow, Let it Reindeer album. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas is very good. They have a version of 12 days of Christmas that is the only version that should ever be played in my opinion, although I admit I’ve not heard all versions of this song. There are also some very, very good original songs on there that are incredible. Allin all it’s a great album that’s fun and serious all at the same time.

  2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by Ronnie James Dio and Tony Iommi

    12 Days of Christmas should only be sung by The Muppets!!! with Miss Piggy’s “ba-dum-dum-dum”

    Carol of the Bells by Mr Garrison (and Mr.Hat) from SouthPark “Ding-dong-mmkay”

    Jingle Bells by Julie Andrews

  3. Maybe it seems silly, but I really like the Home Alone Christmas CD. It is a pretty eclectic selection of songs but that’s what I like. I was introduced to some Christmas songs that I probably wouldn’t have discovered otherwise.

Leave a Reply

